Award-winning Scripps College students

Jeanette Charles ’10 and Maya Higgins ’10 join a select group of 40 national recipients of the Thomas J. Watson Fellowship for 2010-11. Each student is awarded $25,000 to conduct independent research overseas upon graduation. Scripps College is the only member of The Claremont Colleges this year with two recipients. Jeanette was also selected to be a Fulbright scholar, an honor she hopes to defer to next year. Jeanette will explore the articulation of Afro-Latino communities and identity through poetry, other written literature, and oral histories in Venezuela, Peru, Nicaragua, Martinique, and Ecuador. Maya will assess whether ecotourism in fragile island ecosystems serves as a conservation strategy or merely accelerates environmental degradation. She will travel to New Zealand, Madagascar, Yap, and Ecuador.

Clio Korn ’10 is a recipient of a Fulbright Scholarship and will travel to Switzerland to conduct neuroscience research at the University of Geneva. Recent graduates Keri Zug ’09 and Lisa Nowlain ’08 are also Fulbright scholars this year. Keri will help educate community women in Peru about various health issues. Lisa will help primary school teachers in Laos create an art curriculum to educate students about the dangers of unexploded ordinances.

Sara Townsend ’12 has been awarded a Davis Projects for Peace grant. Davis Projects for Peace encourages students to design grassroots peace initiatives that they themselves will implement anywhere in the world. Sara’s proposal was chosen from submissions made by students at 90 colleges around the country. This summer, Sara will work with Crossroads in Claremont to help prepare previously incarcerated women for re-entry into academic and professional settings.

Several recent graduates have won prestigious National Science Foundation Graduate Research fellowships, which provide $30,000 per year for three years and can be used over a five-year period toward research-focused master’s and doctorate degrees at the recipient’s institution of choice. Rachel Karpman ’10 received a fellowship in mathematical sciences and will study at the University of Michigan; it is highly unusual for a student to receive this honor as an undergraduate. Scripps College alumnae already in graduate school who received NSF Graduate Research fellowships this spring include Stefani Crabtree ’08, in archeology at Washington State; Ivy McDaniel ’08, in genetics at UC Berkeley; Laura McPherson ’08, in linguistics at UCLA; Margaret Scheuermann ’08, in chemistry at the University of Washington; Eva Smith ’09, in materials science at Cornell University; and Elizabeth Zeitler ’06, in chemistry at Princeton University.


« »