Michael Deane Lamkin’s Performance Earns a Collective “Bravo!”

At the Dedication Ceremony, friends and colleagues surprised Lamkin with the announcement of the naming of the Conductor’s Office in the Performing Arts Center in his honor. Jean Bixby Smith ’59, chair of the Board of Trustees, in presenting a duplicate plaque to Lamkin, said, “There is no one in this room who has given more time, passion, and commitment to make the dream of a Scripps Performing Arts Center come true.”

Later, Lamkin admitted, “For the first time in my life, I was speechless. I could only mouth the words, ‘Thank you.'”

Some of the many people Lamkin thanked earlier in the program (we regret we cannot list them all) include:

“Saint Anonymous” and the many other wonderful donors; Lee Pattison “who set standards of quality and performance at Scripps”; Mr. and Mrs. Robert Garrison, “whose dream of a performing arts center has been revived and expanded in appropriate ways”; President Bekavac and the Scripps faculty and staff; BOORA architects, Stan Boles, Beverly Moss, and Ric Battaglia; Wayne Romanek, landscape architect; Tovey/Schultz Construction Firm and Steve Tovey; Kevin Terry, project manager; and Everett Sheeley, construction supervisor.