EBSS Award Winner: Sidney J. Weinberg

The first man to receive the Ellen Browning Scripps Society award in the society’s 55-year history was honored by the society and by members of the Board of Trustees at a dinner in Los Angeles in November 2001. Sidney J.Weinberg, Jr., known to his many friends as “Jim,” is an emeritus trustee of the College and served EBSS award statueas chair of the Board of Trustees from 1986 to 1991.

Speakers at the event included Meg Mathies, the Sidney J.Weinberg, Jr. Professor in Natural Sciences; former Scripps president and provost E. Howard Brooks; trustee Steve Koblik; Rebecca Harlow Potter ’61, chair of the EBSS award committee; and President Nancy Y. Bekavac. They recognized Weinberg for his service and many contributions to the College, including sending two daughters to Scripps: trustee Elizabeth Weinberg Smith ’74 and Sydney Weinberg ’75. Past recipients of the award in attendance were Margaret McKenzie ’40, Mary Wig Johnson ’35, Sally Preston Swan ’52, Jean Bixby Smith ’59, and Katharine Howard Miller ’55.